A few pictures, not so many words.

Daily B&W – Borderline

English translation below

Eine kleine Idee, mal schauen, wie lange ich das durchhalte. Aus der Sammlung, die ich habe versuche ich jeden Tag ein Bild zu posten. Die Herausforderung: Es wird ein Schwarz-Weißes Bild sein.

Den Anfang macht ein Bild, aufgenommen vor nicht all zu langer Zeit. Ein ehemaliger Wachturm. Einer, von vielen, die mitten in Deutschland standen. Das Ziel? Aufzupassen, dass niemand von Deutschland nach Deutschland floh. Merkwürdig? Die innerdeutsche Trennung ist noch weithin sichtbar, auch wenn man mehr und mehr schauen muss. Der Turm ist jetzt Teil eines Grenzlandmuseums. In seinem schatten finden sich mitunter Funker ein, um ihren Hobby nachzugehen. Ganz ohne beobachtet oder bewacht zu werden. Gar nicht so schlecht, wie ich finde.

Pferdeberg – Beobachtungsturm

I have a little idea. Let’s see how long it will last. Since I have a collection full of pictures, I am going to try to post one of them each day. A single picture, each in black and white.

I would like to start with a pretty recent picture. A watch tower. One of a lot in the middle of Germany. Their intention? Holding back Germans from fleeing to Germany. Might seem strange for a lot of people but the two German countries were divided intensively. And even today, you can see the border at a lot of places. Today however, the tower is part of a museum. To help remembering. And there are hobby radio operators, using the tower’s shade to chat to their friend on both side of the former border. Not too bad, is it?

4 responses

  1. Hi Andreas! Jetzt kann Ich nur ein bischen Deutsch sprechen, aber kann ein bischen mehr Deutsch lesen. Your blog, with it’s English translation, will, I hope inspire me to find my German again! Great idea for posts!

    19/06/2012 at 14:20

    • Thanks so much Vicky! So, you could be my proofreader for me, making sure, I don’t tell two stories🙂 But quite honestly, there is no issue in keeping the German out and being full Canadian, though. Until now, I haven’t met any real bad people from your country. Cheers and thanks again!

      19/06/2012 at 14:26

  2. It’s a strange thing German history… When I went to Berlin, it really astonished me how many towers and border piece are still left. a weird part of history, let’s all remember it as something that never has to happen again…

    22/06/2012 at 00:06

    • It really is indeed! I am wondering whether we are afraid that we couldn’t reply properly to people who state that Communism is not that bad or it just is the idea of teaching everyone the bad parts of history with a rosen finger …
      However, especially with this piece of history, these are just a few spots of the inner-German border that remain until today. With every day, both the physical and more importantly the borders in our minds are losing significance which I like a lot. I moved from the eastern part to the western nine years ago and was never blamed for leaving or for where I came from. And this is most importantly, I think🙂 Thanks for stopping by and commenting! I really appreciate it. Cheers!

      22/06/2012 at 00:14

Leave a Reply

